Press Release
Jim Greif
(202) 296-1593

AALS Announces 2020 Section Award Winners


Washington, D.C. (November 25, 2019) – The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) is proud to announce the winners of its 2020 section awards for excellence in legal education.

The awards are hosted by several of the association’s 104 sections which are comprised of law faculty within different academic disciplines and areas of interest. This year’s winners will be acknowledged during section programming and events at the 2020 AALS Annual Meeting, January 2-5 in Washington, D.C.

“AALS sections are important intellectual building blocks of our mission to promote excellence in legal education, serving as communities of interest in scholarship, teaching and service,” said Vicki Jackson, AALS President and Thurgood Marshall Professor of Constitutional Law at Harvard Law School. “These honorees are recognized by their sections for their great dedication and achievement in legal education and scholarship across the different areas of the law.”

The 2020 AALS section award winners are:

Section on Alternative Dispute Resolution Best Article of 2018
Donna Shestowsky, University of California, Davis School of Law

Section on Animal Law Excellence in Animal Law Award
Kathy Hessler, Lewis and Clark Law School

Section on Clinical Legal Education William Pincus Award
Paul R. Tremblay, Boston College Law School

Section on Comparative Law Mark Tushnet Prize
Jorge Farinacci, Inter American University of Puerto Rico, School of Law

Section on Criminal Justice Junior Scholar Award
Erin Collins, University of Richmond School of Law

Section on Evidence 2020 Wigmore Award
David Kaye, The Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Law

Section on Jurisprudence Best Article Award
Margaret Jane Radin, University of Michigan Law School
Robin B. Karr, University of Illinois College of Law

Section on Jurisprudence Future Promise Award
Kevin Tobia, ETH Zurich

Section on Jurisprudence Hart/Dworkin Award
John Gardner, Oxford University
Anthony T. Kronman, Yale Law School

Section on Law Libraries and Legal Information Award
Michelle Wu, Georgetown University Law Center

Section on Law, Medicine and Health Care Community Service Award
Leo Beletsky, Northeastern University School of Law

Section on Law and Mental Disability Distinguished Service Award
Elyn Saks, University of Southern California Gould School of Law

Section on Law and Religion Harold Berman Award for Excellence in Scholarship
Mark Storslee, The Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Law

Section on Law and Sports Award
Maureen Weston, Pepperdine University School of Law

Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research LWRR Section Award
Grace Tonner, University of California, Irvine School of Law

Section on Minority Groups Clyde Ferguson Award
Jerry Kang, University of California Los Angeles School of Law

Section on Minority Groups Derrick A. Bell Jr. Award
Jennifer Lee, Temple University, James E. Beasley School of Law

Section on Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities Deborah L. Rhode Award
Aviam Soifer, University of Hawaii, William S. Richardson School of Law

Section on Pro Bono and Public Service Opportunities Father Robert Drinian Award
Laurie Barron, Roger Williams University School of Law

Section on Professional Responsibility Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize
Michael Moffitt, University of Oregon School of Law
Jessica A. Roth, Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law

Section on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Issues LGBTQ+ Inclusive Excellence Award
Susan Hazeldean, Brooklyn Law School

Section on Student Services Kutulakis Award
Sondra Tennessee, University of Houston Law Center

Section on Technology, Law and Legal Education Award
Michele Pistone, Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law

Section on Torts and Compensation Systems William L. Prosser Award
Anita Bernstein, Brooklyn Law School

Section on Women in Legal Education Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award
Robin West, Georgetown University Law Center

About the AALS
The Association of American Law Schools (AALS), founded in 1900, is a nonprofit association of 179 member and 19 fee-paid law schools. Its members enroll most of the nation’s law students and produce the majority of the country’s lawyers and judges, as well as many of its lawmakers. The mission of AALS is to uphold and advance excellence in legal education. In support of this mission, AALS promotes the core values of excellence in teaching and scholarship, academic freedom, and diversity, including diversity of backgrounds and viewpoints, while seeking to improve the legal profession, to foster justice, and to serve its many communities—local, national and international.