Date Chartered: 1/1/1973


The Section on Comparative Law provides a forum for discussion of problems in the comparison of laws which are of concern to the comparatists as a profession, and brings to the attention of members of the Association of American Law Schools the experience of other countries with matters of current concern to American professors of law.

Annual Meeting Programs








Mark Tushnet Prize in Comparative Law

About Mark Tushnet: Mark Tushnet, a former president of the Association of American Law Schools, is the William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law at Harvard Law School. A former law clerk to Justice Thurgood Marshall, Tushnet is an authoritative voice in constitutional law and theory. His scholarship spans all areas of public law, including comparative constitutional law, a field in which he has co-authored a leading casebook. A respected teacher, a devoted mentor, and an influential scholar, he retired from the Harvard faculty in June 2020.

Award Description:
The AALS Section on Comparative Law awards the “Mark Tushnet Prize” to recognize scholarly excellence in any subject of comparative law by an untenured scholar at an AALS Member School. The Prize will be given to the author(s) of a scholarly article judged to have made an important contribution in the field of comparative law. The Prize was awarded for the first time at the 2020 AALS Annual Meeting.


YearRecipientLaw School
2024Rose RameauGeorgia State University College of Law
2023Anna ConleyAlexander Blewett III School of Law at the University of Montana
2022Mark JiaHarvard Law School
2021Pamela BookmanFordham University School of Law
2020Jorge FarinacciInter American University of Puerto Rico School of Law

Honorable Mentions

YearHonorable MentionsLaw School
2022Paul FigueroaThe University of New Mexico School of Law
2021Jonathan L. MarshfieldNebraska Law School
2021Yuvraj JoshiYale Law School