Date Chartered: 1/1/1974


The Section on Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among the members of the Section; reports on the status of legal research and writing; and makes recommendations on matters concerning law school administration and matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of law school curriculum.


Section of the Year

2020 Winner

Legal Writing, Reasoning and Research Award

The purpose of the Section Award is to honor an individual for an outstanding contribution to the field of legal writing, reasoning and research.

Nominations and Eligibility:  The criteria for the Section Award are service, scholarship, and legal-writing program design or other activity valuable to the advancement of the field of legal writing. If a Section Award is to be granted, the Chair shall announce in the spring newsletter that nominations are open for the award. The announcement shall include that nominations shall be submitted to the Awards Committee and the deadline for submission.

Announcement and Ceremony: If a Section Award is granted, the award may be announced at the next AALS Annual Meeting during the meeting or other event of the Section or as determined by the Section’s Executive Committee after obtaining AALS approval that the Section has followed it award criteria and procedures.


YearAward NameRecipientLaw School
2024Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardSue LiemerElon University School of Law
2023Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardLaura GrahamWake Forest University School of Law
2022Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardKarin MikaCleveland State University, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
2021Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardCassandra HillNorthern Illinois University College of Law
2020Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardGrace TonnerUniversity of California, Irvine School of Law
2019Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardCharles CallerosArizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
2018Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardDarby DickersonThe John Marshall Law School
2017Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardLinda BergerUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law
2016Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardSuzanne E. RoweUniversity of Oregon School of Law
2015Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardMark E. WojcikThe John Marshall Law School
2014Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardJan M. LevineDuquesne University School of Law
2013Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardTerrill PollmanUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law
2012Legal Writing, Reading, and Research AwardSusan L. BrodyThe John Marshall Law School

Webinars & Webinar Recordings


Legal, Writing, Reasoning, and Research Section Social

August 15, 2023

This session was not recorded.