Date Chartered: 1/1/1973


The Section on Professional Responsibility promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among members, provides support for pedagogical and scholarly endeavors, and facilitates dialogue on matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of the law relating to the legal profession and issues of professional responsibility.

Leadership   Listserv & Member-Only Content


Professional Responsibility Fall 2018 Newsletter (PDF)
Professional Responsibility Spring 2018 Newsletter (PDF)
Professional Responsibility Fall 2017 Newsletter (PDF)


Annual Meeting Programs


Main Program
Works In Progress – New Voices
Empirical Study of Legal Education and the Legal Profession (Co-Sponsored by Professional Responsibility)


Main Program
Works In Progress – New Voices
Leadership (Co-Sponsored by Professional Responsibility)



Year Award Name Recipient Law School
2018 Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize Robert Gordon University of California, Davis School of Law
2017 Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize Leslie C. Levin


Kate Levine

University of Connecticut School of Law

St. John’s University School of Law

2016 Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize Elizabeth Camblee Burch

Morris A. Ratner

University of Georgia School of Law

University of California, Hastings College of Law

2015 Fred C. Zacharias Memorial Prize Russell M. Gold New York University School of Law