Date Chartered: 5/31/1983


The Section on Alternative Dispute Resolution promotes members’ interests, activities, and communication of ideas, and provides a forum for discussion of matters of interest in the teaching, research, and improvement of the law and practice relating to Alternative Dispute Resolution (negotiation, arbitration, mediation, and other dispute resolution processes).

Leadership   Discussion List



Main Program


Main Program
Contracts (Co-sponsored by Alternative Dispute Resolution)
Professional Responsibility (Co-sponsored by Alternative Dispute Resolution)


Main Program
Litigation (Co-sponsored by Alternative Dispute Resolution)


ADR Summer 2021 Social

Tuesday, July 6, 2021, 7:00 – 8:00 PM ET

Register for the Session! *Registration is required





Section of the Year

2019 Winner


Best Scholarly Article Award

Nominations and Eligibility: To be eligible, the article must be already published in a law review or other academic journal bearing a volume date of the current year, or be accepted for publication in a volume that will bear a current year volume date. Works-in-progress not yet accepted for publication or those accepted for publication in a volume for the following year are not eligible. Books and book chapters are not eligible.

The Section’s Executive Committee will consider several criteria in selecting the winner, including:

  • The relevance of the work to the field of dispute resolution;
  • The degree of contribution of the work to the field of dispute resolution;
  • The originality and quality of the research reflected in the work; and
  • The quality and clarity of the writing.

Nominations/submissions should be sent electronically in Microsoft Word or PDF Format to the Section Chair by a deadline of the Section’s choosing, usually in March. In the subject line, please write: “AALS ADR Section Article Nomination.” Authors may nominate/submit their own articles; co-authored articles are welcome, too. Articles authored by the leadership of the Section are eligible for nomination, but that author will no longer be eligible to judge. If you have any questions, please contact the Section Chair.

The winning article will be announced by the end of the spring semester.



Year Award Name Recipient Law School
2021 Best Scholarly Article Award Michael Moffitt University of Oregon School of Law
2020 Best Scholarly Article Award Donna Shestowsky UC Davis School of Law
2019 Best Scholarly Article Award Ellen Deason The Ohio State University, Michael E. Moritz College of Law