Date Chartered: 1/1/1973


The Section on Torts and Compensation Systems promotes and stimulates ideas, interest, and activities, and the communication and discussion thereof, among those concerned with the teaching, administration, improvement, and reformation of the law relating to torts and compensation systems.

Annual Meeting Programs








William L. Prosser Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions of law teachers in scholarship, teaching and service in the torts and compensation systems of law.

Nominations and Eligibility: Competition for the Award is to be announced through AALS Newsletters, at the annual meeting of the Section, and in the Section newsletter, “Torts and Retorts.” Any law teacher may nominate another law teacher for the award. Nominations for the Award shall be open from the annual meeting in January of each year to June 30.

Selection Process: The selection committee shall consist of the members of the Torts and Compensation Systems Executive Committee. Selection of a recipient will be made no later than November 1st.


YearAward NameRecipientLaw School
2024William L. Prosser AwardKenneth S. AbrahamUniversity of Virginia School of Law
2023William L. Prosser AwardBenjamin C. ZipurskyFordham University School of Law
2023William L. Prosser AwardJohn GoldbergHarvard Law School
2022William L. Prosser AwardMartha ChamallasThe Ohio State University, Michael E. Moritz College of Law
2021William L. Prosser AwardJack WeinsteinUnited States District Court Judge for the Eastern District of New York
2020William L. Prosser AwardAnita BernsteinBrooklyn Law School
2019William L. Prosser AwardKenneth SimonsUniversity of California, Irvine School of Law
2018William L. Prosser AwardMarshall ShapoNorthwestern University Pritzker School of Law
2017William L. Prosser AwardStephen SugarmanUniversity of California, Berkeley School of Law
2016William L. Prosser AwardAaron TwerskiBrooklyn Law School
2015William L. Prosser AwardMichael GreenWake Forest University School of Law
2014William L. Prosser AwardJames A. Henderson Jr.Cornell Law School
2013William L. Prosser AwardJane StapletonThe University of Texas School of Law
2012William L. Prosser AwardRichard A. PosnerUnited States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and Senior Lecturer, University of Chicago Law School