Date Chartered: 1/1/1973


The Section on Law and Sports promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among members and makes recommendations on matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of the law relating to sports.

Leadership      Section Members

 Bylaws of the Section on Law and Sports

Law and Sports Award

The purpose of the award is to honor an individual who has made substantial and distinguished contributions to scholarship, teaching, and/or service in the area of the law relating to sports.

Nominations and Eligibility: The Chair of the Section or the Committee, as designated by the Chair, shall seek nominations from the Section through the AALS Communication Platform, along with other venues that may be appropriate, including other electronic means. Regular Section members may make nominations. Section members and other individuals are eligible for the award; law schools, institutions or organizations are not eligible. Prior year or current year Section officers may not be selected as an award winner.

Selection Process: The Award recipient will be chosen by a Selection Committee. The Selection Committee shall consist of the Section’s Executive Committee or other regular Section members. The Selection Committee shall have no fewer than three members. The Selection Committee shall discuss the nominees by e‐mail or conference call, as the Chair shall arrange, and then vote. The nominee receiving the most votes (after run‐off between the top two nominees, in the event no nominee receives a majority on the initial polling) shall receive the award, providing that the recipient is then approved by 2/3 of the full body of the Executive Committee as meeting the criteria set above.

Announcement and Ceremony: The award will be announced at the Section’s annual meeting program session.


Year Award Name Recipient Law School
2024 Law and Sports Award Dionne Koller University of Baltimore School of Law
2023 Law and Sports Award Josephine (Jo) R. Potuto University of Nebraska College of Law
2022 Law and Sports Award Gabriel Feldman Tulane University Law School
2021 Law and Sports Award Stephen Ross The Pennsylvania State University – Penn State Law
2020 Law and Sports Award Maureen Weston Pepperdine University School of Law
2019 Law and Sports Award Matthew Mitten Marquette University Law School
2018 Law and Sports Award Timothy Davis Wake Forest University School of Law
2017 Law and Sports Award Gary R. Roberts Indiana University Robert H. M.
2016 Law and Sports Award Paul C. Weiler Harvard Law School