Date Chartered: 8/1/1974

The Section on Law and Religion promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among members and provides discussion, information, and recommendations in regard to the interaction of law and Religion.

Annual Meeting Programs








Harold Berman Award for Excellence in Scholarship

This annual award recognizes a paper that has made an outstanding scholarly contribution to the field of law and religion. To be eligible, a paper must have been published between July 15, 2020 and July 15, 2022. (Because no paper was selected last year, the committee will consider a two-year window for this year’s prize.) The author must be a faculty member at an AALS Member School (with no more than 10 years’ experience as a faculty member) or a full-time fellow or VAP at an AALS member school. Nominations should include the name of the author, the title of the paper, a statement of eligibility, and a brief rationale for choosing the paper for the award. Self-nominations are accepted.


YearAward NameRecipientLaw School
2024Harold Berman Award for Excellence in ScholarshipXiao WangUniversity of Virginia School of Law
2023Harold Berman Award for Excellence in ScholarshipZalman RothschildThe University of Chicago, The Law School
2021Harold Berman Award for Excellence in ScholarshipElizabeth KatzWashington University in St. Louis School of Law
2020Harold Berman Award for Excellence in ScholarshipMark StorsleeThe Pennsylvania State University – Penn State Law
2019Law and Religion AwardKellen FunkColumbia Law School
2018Law and Religion Award for Excellence in ScholarshipChristopher LundWayne State University Law School
2017Law and Religion Award for Excellence in ScholarshipNathan ChapmanUniversity of Georgia School of Law