Date Chartered: 5/31/1999


The Section on Pro Bono and Public Service Opportunities promotes the communication of ideas, interests and activities among members of the Section and makes recommendations to the Association on matters concerning Pro Bono and Public Service Opportunities.

Leadership     Discussion List



Main Program
Award Presentation
Leadership (Co-Sponsored by Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities)


Main Program
Service Project
Empirical study of Legal Education and the Legal Profession (Co-sponsored by Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities)
Leadership (Co-sponsored by Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities)


Main Program
Service Project
Leadership (Co-sponsored by Pro Bono & Public Service Opportunities)

Deborah L. Rhode Award

The Rhode Award will be awarded to a full-time faculty member or Dean who has made an outstanding contribution to increasing pro bono and public service opportunities in law schools through scholarship, leadership, or service.

Father Robert Drinan Award

The Drinan Award will be presented to an individual, whether full-time faculty or not, who has forwarded the ethic of pro bono service through personal service, program design or management.

Nominations and Eligibility: The Award Competition will be announced through the Section’s discussion list, its newsletter and/or the AALS Newsletter. Nominations may be made by any member of AALS. Nominations will be accepted until October 31 of each year and the selection shall be made by November 30.



Year Award Name Recipient Law School
2021 Deborah L. Rhode Award Erwin Chemerinsky University of California, Berkeley School of Law
2021 Father Robert Drinan Award Pamela Robinson University of South Carolina, School of Law
2020 Deborah L. Rhode Award Aviam Soifer University of Hawaii, William S. Richardson School of Law
2020 Father Robert Drinian Award Laurie Barron Roger Williams University School of Law
2019 Deborah L. Rhode Award Vivian Neptune Rivera University of Puerto Rico School of Law
2019 Father Robert Drinian Award Louis Rulli University of Pennsylvania Law School
2018 Deborah L. Rhode Award Angela Drake University of Missouri School of Law
2018 Father Robert Drinian Award Thomas Schoenherr Fordham University School of Law
2017 Father Robert Drinian Award Paolo Annino Florida State University
2016 Deborah L. Rhode Award James H. Rosenblatt Mississippi College School of Law
2016 Father Robert Drinan Award Janet Weinstein California Western School of Law
2015 Deborah L. Rhode Award Gerald Lopez University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
2015 Father Robert Drinan Award William P. Quigley Loyola University New Orleans College of Law
2014 Deborah L. Rhode Award Mathew Diller Benjamin Cardozo School of Law, Yeshiva University
2014 Father Robert Drinan Award Linda McGuire University of Iowa College of Law
2013 Deborah L. Rhode Award Douglas A. Blaze University Tennessee College of Law
2013 Father Robert Drinan Award J.P. “Sandy” Ogilvy The Catholic University of America,
Columbus School of Law
2012 Deborah L. Rhode Award Claudio Grossman American University Washington College of Law
2012 Father Robert Drinan Award Christine Smith University of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law