Date Chartered: 1/1/1973


The Section on Jurisprudence promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among members and makes recommendations on matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of the law relating to jurisprudence and legal philosophy.


Future Promise Award

Given annually to a pre-tenure-track or early tenure-track scholar whose work reflects future promise in both philosophy and law

The Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal Philosophy

Given annually to a scholar who has made significant and lasting contributions to the philosophical understanding of law.

Jurisprudence Section Article Award

Given annually to a tenured or tenure-track scholar in recognition of an exceptional philosophical work of legal scholarship (must have a publication date of 2021 or 2022).


YearAward NameRecipientLaw School
2024Future Promise AwardSteven SchausThe University of Michigan Law School
2024Hart-Dworkin AwardJohn GoldbergHarvard Law School
2024Hart-Dworkin AwardBenjamin ZipurskyFordham University School of Law
2024Jurisprudence Section Article AwardCourtney CoxFordham University School of Law
2023Future Promise AwardErin MillerUniversity of Southern California, Gould School of Law
2023Future Promise AwardNina VarsavalUniversity of California, Los Angeles School of Law
2023Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal PhilosophySeana ShiffrinUniversity of California, Los Angeles School of Law
2023Jurisprudence Section Article AwardRebecca StoneUniversity of California, Los Angeles School of Law
2022Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal PhilosophyFrederick SchauerUniversity of Virginia School of Law
2021Best Article AwardDeborah HellmanUniversity of Virginia School of Law
2021Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal PhilosophyMichael MooreUniversity of Illinois College of Law
2020Best Article AwardMargaret Jane RadinUniversity of Michigan Law School
2020Best Article AwardRobin B. KarrIllinois College of Law
2020Future Promise AwardKevin TobiaETH Zurich
2020Hart-Dworkin Award for JurisprudenceJohn GardnerOxford University
2020Hart-Dworkin Award for JurisprudenceAnthony T. KronmanYale Law School
2019Hart-Dworkin Award for JurisprudenceAndrew KoppelmanNorthwestern University Pritzker School of Law