Date Chartered: 11/9/2017

The purpose of this Section to promote scholarship, teaching, and related activities that will help prepare lawyers and law students to serve in leadership roles. The Section also will make recommendations to the Association on matters of interest with respect to the research and teaching concerning leadership development in the legal profession.

Annual Meeting Programs

2024

2023

2022

2021

2020

2019

Webinars & Webinar Recordings

Upcoming

The Intersection of Leadership, Professionalism, and Professional Identity
Tuesday, September 10th, 12:00 – 1:00pm EST/11:00 – 12:00pm CT/10:00 – 11:00am MT/9:00 – 10:00am PT
Register Here

Leadership for Equity Amid Political Turbulence
Tuesday, October 8th, 12:00 – 1:00pm EST/11:00 – 12:00pm CT/10:00 – 11:00am MT/9:00 – 10:00am PT
Register Here

Women and Leadership
Wednesday, November 13th, 5:00 – 6:00pm EST/4:00 – 5:00pm CT/3:00 – 4:00pm MT/2:00 – 3:00pm PT
Register Here

Past

Teaching Law Leadership with Non-Law Texts

Thursday, April 25th, 2024

Adaptive Leadership Conversation

Wednesday, October 18, 2023


Kellye Testy, President and CEO, LSAC and Hillary Sale, Associate Dean for Strategy, Georgetown University Hillary Sale, will have an engaging conversation with Farayi Chipungu, who teaches adaptive leadership at both the Harvard Kennedy School and at Harvard Law School. She will talk with us about teaching adaptive leadership and how her experiences teaching graduate students at the Kennedy School are different from teaching JDs at the law school — and her adaptive approach to doing so.

Watch Recording Here

Teaching Leadership Using the Case Study Method

Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Lee Fisher, Dean Cleveland State University, Doris DelTosto Brogan, Professor and Harold Reuschlein Chair, Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law, and Mr. P. Kelly Tompkins, Leader-in-Residence, Cleveland State University College of Law discussed teaching leadership to law students using the case study method. The case study method is used often in business schools, but rarely in law schools. The case study approach grew out of the Langdellian case method, but instead of using established case law, case studies use real-life or hypothetical situations from the legal, business, political and government worlds to illustrate and then analyze leadership principles.

Watch Recording Here

AALS Leadership Session

Wednesday, July 19, 2023

Joan Heminway, Interim Director, Institute for Professional Leadership, Rick Rose Distinguished Professor of Law, The University of Tennessee College of Law, and Martin Brinkley, Dean and Distinguished Professor, University of North Carolina School of Law, will host a program that will focus on adjunct/full-time faculty collaborations on leadership curriculum and course design. Our two featured speakers are William (Bill) Johnson and Candice Reed, both adjunct instructors teaching leadership courses at our respective institutions. Each will be asked to offer about ten minutes of introduction of themselves, the course they teach, how they designed it and originally taught it, and how they may have redesigned and taught the course after teaching it one or two times.

This event was not recorded.

Leadership Teaching Session

Monday, June 26, 2023

Leah Teague, Associate Dean and Professor of Law, Baylor Law and Stephen Rispoli, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Strategic Initiatives, Baylor Law

Watch Recording Here

Leadership Teaching Session

Wednesday, May 24, 2023

April Barton, Dean and Professor of Law, Thomas R. Kline School of Law of Duquesne University, Arik Short, Professor of Law & Director of Professionalism and Leadership Program, Texas A&M University School of Law, and Tania Luma, Assistant Dean, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Clinical Professor, Loyola Chicago Law School

Watch Recording Here