Dear Jurisprudence section members,

I wanted you to update you on some matters, and also to solicit your help.

Our panels for the AALS meeting next year in San Diego have now been submitted. Our main panel will be an author meets critic panel for the new book by Tommie Shelby (philosophy, Harvard) on *The Idea of Prison Abolition* (book link <u>here</u>). This panel will be co-sponsored by the AALS criminal law section.

Another panel, also co-sponsored by the criminal law section, will be on teaching criminal law, with, I hope, some emphasis on teaching the theoretical side of the criminal law.

Finally, we will be co-sponsoring a panel on the judicial branch and democracy with the section on litigation (that section will be the primary driver of this session). You can find a link to an announcement <u>here</u>.

I would like to try to do some Zoom meetings over the summer, but I'd like to know if section members have any interest or any bandwidth for doing so. My thought is that we could do a session on teaching philosophy of law/jurisprudence, and a workshop panel. If you would like to lead or volunteer for any of these panels, please let me know, and I will start putting them together. For the workshop panel, I'd be interested for a few people to volunteer to workshop drafts of papers, and for others to volunteer to act as commentators. Papers from pre-tenure professors would be especially welcome!

Finally, and perhaps most urgently, please let me know if you have any nominees for our three awards. We are looking for a broad range of nominations for each award, so the board is soliciting any and all help you can offer. Here are the section awards:

- Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal Philosophy: Given annually to a scholar who has made significant and lasting contributions to the philosophical understanding of law (2022 winner: Frederick Schauer)
- Jurisprudence Section Article Award: Given annually to a tenured or tenure-track scholar in recognition of an exceptional philosophical work of legal scholarship.
- Future Promise Award: Given annually to a pre-tenure-track or early tenure-track scholar whose work reflects future promise in both philosophy and law

I hope everyone's semester is ending well.

All best,

Chad