AALS Jurisprudence Section Newsletter, February 2022

Jurisprudence Section Announcements

- Welcome from the Chair.
 - I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as the Chair of the Jurisprudence Section this year. I would like to extend my thanks to Robert Leider for his hard work on behalf of the section last year. Robert will continue to serve on the Executive Committee, along with our predecessors Mihailis Diamantis and Kim Ferzan. We are also welcoming Emad Atiq to our Board, who will be taking over as Treasurer. Matt Shapiro, who was on the Board last year, will now serve as chair-elect. Aditi Bagchi will now be our secretary, in line to become chair after Matt.
 - Membership Programs. This section's programs have traditionally included the newsletter, the mentorship program, and the scholarship awards, and we will continue those programs. In addition, one focus of the Board this year will be to provide online events to build new relationships among members of the section. As the pandemic situation changes and, we hope, improves, we will look into planning some in-person events.
 - The newsletter. The newsletter will provide AALS and section-related announcements, information about non-AALS jurisprudence events and conferences, and announcements of recent scholarship.
 - Mentorship program. The mentorship program pairs law-and-philosophy scholars seeking their initial tenure-track appointment or who are early in the tenure-track with scholars established in the field. If you would like to participate in this program (either as a mentor or mentee), please e-mail Mihailis Diamantis (mihailis-diamantis@uiowa.edu). Mentors, please let us know any preferences that you have, especially as they relate to availability and specific subject matter.
 - AALS Awards
 - Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal Philosophy: Given annually to a scholar who has made significant and lasting contributions to the philosophical understanding of law (2022 winner: Frederick Schauer)
 - Jurisprudence Section Article Award: Given annually to a tenured or tenure-track scholar in recognition of an exceptional philosophical work of legal scholarship.
 - Future Promise Award: Given annually to a pre-tenure-track or early tenure-track scholar whose work reflects future promise in both philosophy and law
 - Online Events. We are planning online events with the goal of deepening relationships among members of the section and to connect new and established scholars. Please follow the newsletter for announcements.
- AALS 2023 Annual Meeting. The overall theme for the AALS 2023 Annual Meeting is "How Law Schools Can Make a Difference." We will have more information on the Jurisprudence Section panel proposals in the next newsletter.

- Scholarship and Events: Please e-mail Aditi Bagchi (abagchi@law.fordham.edu) any recent scholarship or events that you would like to share with the section. For events, please provide a date, a title, and a link. For recent scholarship, please provide citation information, a link, and (optionally) a brief description (one or two sentences).
- New Ideas. If you have suggestions for new programming, please e-mail me (cflande2@slu.edu). I will forward those ideas to the Board.