Dear Jurisprudence section members,

I hope everyone has had a relaxing and productive summer.

We will be having a works in progress Zoom session on **August 12**, **at 10AM Central/11AM Eastern**. Nina Varsava and Zalman Rothschild will be presenting papers, and Jeff Pojanowski and Ash Bhagwat will be commenting. I hope you can make it. <u>Please email me at chad.flanders@slu.edu</u> if you would like me to send you the link and copies of the papers on August 3.

Our four sessions for the AALS meeting are now set, and we are just working on filling up the panels. The dates and times of all of those meetings have also been scheduled:

Wednesday, January 4, 8:00-9:40: New voices in election law (co-sponsored with election law) Wednesday, January 4, 3:00-4:40: Teaching criminal justice (co-sponsored with criminal law) Thursday, January 5, 8:00:-9:40: Book roundtable on Tommie Shelby, *The Idea of Prison Abolition* (co-sponsored with criminal law)

Friday, January 6, 1:00-2:40: The judiciary--Making the Least Democratic Branch of Government More Respected, Less Political (co-sponsored with litigation).

Of course, we are always soliciting nominees for our three awards. They are:

- Hart-Dworkin Award in Legal Philosophy: Given annually to a scholar who has made significant and lasting contributions to the philosophical understanding of law (2022 winner: Frederick Schauer)
- Jurisprudence Section Article Award: Given annually to a tenured or tenure-track scholar in recognition of an exceptional philosophical work of legal scholarship.
- Future Promise Award: Given annually to a pre-tenure-track or early tenure-track scholar whose work reflects future promise in both philosophy and law

Т	har	١k	٧O	П
	Hai	111	yυ	u,

Chad