AALS Announces 2023 Section Award Winners

The Association of American Law Schools (AALS) is proud to announce the winners of its 2023 section awards for excellence in legal education.

The awards are hosted by several sections of the association organized around various academic disciplines and topics of interest. This year’s winners will be acknowledged during an awards ceremony at the 2023 AALS Annual Meeting on January 5.

“AALS sections are active communities that help foster connections, scholarship, and professional development for law school faculty, staff, and administrators,” said Erwin Chemerinsky, AALS President and Dean of University of California, Berkeley School of Law. “The association is honored to present section awards to these outstanding individuals and organizations that are truly making a difference in legal education through research, teaching, advocacy, and action.”

The 2023 AALS section award winners are:

Academic Support

Administrative Law

Aging and the Law

Animal Law

Balance & Well-Being in Legal Education

Comparative Law

Criminal Law

East Asian Law and Society

Election Law


Family & Juvenile Law

Federal Courts

Global Engagement

Intellectual Property

International Human Rights


Law and Religion

Law and Sports

Law Libraries and Legal Information

Law, Medicine and Health Care

Law Professors with Disabilities and Allies

Legal Writing, Reasoning, and Research

Minority Groups

Part-Time Division Programs

Pre-Law Education and Admission to Law School

Pro Bono & Access to Justice

Professional Responsibility


Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Issues

Student Services

Technology, Law and Legal Education

Torts and Compensation Systems

Women in Legal Education