President’s Message:  Law Schools, Civil Discourse, and the Political Divide

By AALS President Erwin Chemerinsky, Dean, University of California, Berkeley School of Law

“[L]aw schools must play a conscious role in looking for solutions to the world’s seemingly intractable problems. Through faculty research and advocacy, through our clinics and centers, we must look for ways to use the law to make a difference.”

Nominations for AALS President-Elect and New Executive Committee Members

The following individuals have been nominated: for President-Elect, Melanie D. Wilson (Washington and Lee University School of Law). For three-year terms on the Executive Committee, Anthony W. Crowell (New York Law School) and Renée McDonald Hutchins (University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law).

Spotlight on Sections: Indian Nations and Indigenous Peoples

The Section on Indian Nations and Indigenous Peoples promotes the communication of ideas, interests, and activities among members of the Section and others in related fields and makes recommendations on matters of interest in the teaching and improvement of the law relating to Indian nations and Indigenous peoples.

2023 AALS Annual Meeting Preview

With the 2023 AALS Annual Meeting just around the corner, check out some of the meeting highlights, networking events, and other opportunities at the conference in San Diego.

Deputy Director Alena Allen Discusses Her Approach to the Role

“One of the best things about this position is that it allows me to meet new people, build relationships, and try to figure out how AALS can help their faculty.”

professional headshot

UC Davis Dean Kevin R. Johnson Receives Inaugural Olivas Award from Five AALS Sections

The Michael A. Olivas Award for Outstanding Leadership in Diversity and Mentoring in the Legal Academy is a joint recognition presented by the AALS Sections on Civil Rights, Education Law, Immigration Law, Minority Groups, and Student Services that honors the life and legacy of Michael A. Olivas.  The honor will be presented to Dean Johnson at the 2023 Annual Meeting at the AALS Awards Ceremony on January 5.

Maryam Ahranjani and Jamelia N. Morgan to Receive Deborah L. Rhode Award from Four AALS Sections

Maryam Ahranjani, (University of New Mexico School of Law) and Jamelia N. Morgan (Northwestern Pritzker School of Law) have been awarded the Deborah L. Rhode Award, a joint recognition by four AALS sections that honors Rhode’s career and commitment to legal education. The honor will be presented at the 2023 Annual Meeting at the AALS Awards Ceremony on January 5.

AALS Announces 2023 Section Award Winners

AALS Sections are proud to announce the winners of their 2023 awards organized around various academic disciplines and topics of interest. This year’s winners will be honored during an awards ceremony at the 2023 AALS Annual Meeting on January 5.

AALS Selects 2023 Scholarly Papers Competition Winner

AALS has announced the winner of the 2023 AALS Scholarly Papers Competition for law school faculty members in the field for five years or fewer. The competition’s selection committee recognized Georgetown University Law Center professor Nicole Summers for her article “Civil Probation.”

two toned blue and white journal cover

Journal of Legal Education Double Issue Reflects on Changes Due to COVID-19

The recently released double issue 70-2 & 3 of the Journal of Legal Education reflects on the legal academy’s experiences and reactions to the beginning of the COVID-19. The articles’ authors discuss the changes brought on by the pandemic that have become part of the permanent legal education landscape.

Update Your Biography in the AALS Directory of Law Teachers

Have you published a new paper, chapter, or book? Won an award or moved to a different law school? Are you looking for colleagues to review your works in progress? Update your biography in the Directory of Law Teachers at any time.