Triennial Award Nominations

Nominations for the 2021 AALS Triennial Award for Lifetime Service to Legal Education and the Law

In 2006, the Association of American Law Schools established the AALS Award for Lifetime Service to Legal Education and the Law, an award presented every three years. The award was designed to formally recognize lifetime service to legal education by a faculty member or retired faculty member at an AALS member school.

The 2006 award was presented to Norman Dorsen, New York University School of Law; the 2009 award was presented to the Honorable Guido Calabresi, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; the 2012 award was presented to the late Derrick Bell; the 2015 award was presented to the late Herma Hill Kay, University of California, Berkeley School of Law; and the 2018 award was presented to Michael A. Olivas, University of Houston Law Center.

The 2021 recipient will be selected by the AALS Executive Committee. Nomination submissions should be in the form of a letter that provides sufficient information about the nominee to enable the selection committee to understand the specific contributions of the nominee both to legal education and to the law. Nomination submissions may also include other materials that evidence the contributions of the nominee, including articles written by the nominee or news or magazine articles that describe the service accomplishments of the nominee.

Nominations should be e-mailed to [email protected]. Please submit nominations for this award no later than June 1, 2021.

The AALS looks forward to recognizing the importance of service through this award, which will be presented at the 2022 Annual Meeting.


The AALS Triennial Award for Lifetime Service to Legal Education and to the Law will be presented to Michael Olivas at the first meeting of the AALS House of Representatives at the 2019 AALS Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Thursday, January 3, 2019 at 3:30 p.m.