Nominations Sought for Triennial Award

Established in 2006, the AALS Triennial Award for Lifetime Service to Legal Education and the Law recognizes career contributions by an outstanding current or retired faculty member at an AALS member school. 

The 2024 recipient will be selected by the AALS Executive Committee. The Committee is now accepting nominations. 

If you would like to suggest a candidate for this award, please send a nomination letter to [email protected] by March 29 with sufficient information to illustrate the nominee’s specific contributions to both legal education and the law. You may include supplemental materials that evidence the nominee’s contributions including their own scholarly writing or news articles about the nominee. 

AALS looks forward to recognizing the importance of service through this award, which will be presented at the 2025 Annual Meeting in San Francisco. Previous winners include: 


Norman Dorsen, New York University School of Law


Guido Calabresi, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit


Headshot of Derrick Bell, 2012 Triennial Award Honoree
Derrick Bell, Harvard Law School


Herma Hill Kay
University of California Berkeley School of Law


Michael Olivas
University of Houston Law Center


Kimberlé Crenshaw, Columbia Law School & University of California, Los Angeles School of Law