Nominations for AALS President-Elect and Executive Committee

The AALS Nominating Committee for 2024 Officers and Members of the Executive Committee recommends the following accomplished teacher-scholars and highly capable volunteers for positions on the AALS Executive Committee. At the Meeting of the House of Representatives at the AALS Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, the Committee will present these nominees to the House.


Austen L. Parrish

Professional portrat

Austen Parrish is Dean and Chancellor’s Professor of Law at of the University of California, Irvine School of Law. Previously, he was the Dean and James H. Rudy Professor of Law at Indiana University Maurer School of Law. Dean Parrish is a graduate of the University of Washington (BA, 1994) and Columbia University School of Law (JD, 1997), where he was a Harlan Fiske Stone Scholar. Prior to entering the academy, he was an attorney at O’Melveny and Myers in Los Angeles. Before joining Indiana University, he held a variety of positions at Southwestern Law School in Los Angeles, including interim dean and CEO, vice dean, and the Irwin R. Buchalter Professor of Law.

Dean Parrish has taught a wide variety of courses throughout his career, including Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Federal Courts, Transnational Law, International Environmental Law, and Public International Law. His research and teaching interests primarily focus on transnational law and transnational litigation. He has co-authored several books, written many scholarly articles, and been published in leading law reviews. 

Dean Parrish is a member of the board of directors at AccessLex Institute. The Indiana Supreme Court appointed him in 2019 to the Study Commission on the Future of the Indiana Bar Examination and he previously served as a member of the Indianapolis Bar Association’s Bar Exam Improvements Task Force. Southwestern Law School’s Alumni Board awarded him with the Outstanding Friend Award in 2014. In 2018 and 2021, he was named a Wells Scholars Professor at Indiana University, and, in 2022, he was awarded the Provost’s Medal, recognizing outstanding and transformative contributions to Indiana University Bloomington.

Dean Parrish is a member of the AALS Executive Committee, on a term ending in 2022. He has served as chair of the AALS Membership Review Committee, a member of the Deans Steering Committee, and member of the faculty/programming committee for the AALS 2019 New Deans Workshop. He currently serves as an editor of the Journal of Legal Education

Executive Committee

John Valery White

Professional headshot

John Valery White is the Ralph Denton Professor of Law at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) William S. Boyd School of Law. He previously served as Dean of the Boyd School of Law, Executive Vice President and Provost of UNLV, and Acting Chancellor of the Nevada System of Higher Education. He earned his BA from Southern University and his JD from Yale Law School, where he was a Notes and Topics editor for the Yale Law Journal

Professor White began his career as an Orville Schell Fellow at Human Rights Watch in New York City, where he worked on prison and human rights practices in Egypt. He then joined the faculty at Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center as an assistant professor of law, ultimately becoming the J. Dawson Gasquet Memorial Professor of Law. Professor White’s scholarship and writing is focused on human rights, civil rights, race politics, and discrimination. 

Professor White has served as a guest lecturer, panelist, and speaker both nationally and internationally. He is a member of the American Law Institute and the Council on Foreign Relations and serves in leadership positions in many nonprofit foundations and boards. He was elected to the LSAC Board of Trustees in 2015, having previously served in other roles including on the LSAC Membership Services and Programs Committee. He has served on the AALS Membership Review Committee and the Nominating Committee for Officers and Members of the Executive Committee.

Risa Goluboff

Professional headshot

Risa Goluboff is Dean and Arnold H. Leon Professor of Law at the University of Virginia School of Law, where she first began teaching in 2002. She is the School of Law’s first woman dean. She is also a professor of history in the UVA Corcoran Department of History, an affiliated faculty member at the Carter G. Woodson Institute for African-American and African Studies, and a faculty senior fellow at the Miller Center. She holds degrees from Harvard College (AB, 1994),Yale Law School (JD, 2000), and Princeton University (MA, 1999, and PhD, 2003). Before joining the UVA faculty, she clerked for Judge Guido Calabresi of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit and Justice Stephen Breyer of the U.S. Supreme Court. 

Dean Goluboff is a nationally renowned legal historian focusing on American constitutional and civil rights law. She is the author of The Lost Promise of Civil Rights, which won the 2010 Order of the Coif Biennial Book Award and the 2008 James Willard Hurst Prize, and Vagrant Nation: Police Power, Constitutional Change, and the Making of the 1960s, which won awards from the American Historical Association and American Society for Legal History, among others. She is a prolific author of scholarly and popular articles, a sought-after expert for media and lectures, and the co-host of the podcast “Common Law.” Her work has been supported by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation and the American Council of Learned Societies.

Dean Goluboff is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an elected member of the American Law Institute, a member of the board of directors for Equal Justice Works, and chair of the Advisory Board of the Karsh Institute of Democracy. In 2023, President Biden appointed her to the Permanent Committee for the Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise, which chronicles the history of the U.S. Supreme Court. She is the recipient of both UVA Law School’s Carl McFarland Award (2008) for faculty scholarship and the University of Virginia’s All-University Teaching Award (2011). She chaired the Deans Working Group, established to lead the University’s response to the events of Aug. 11-12, 2017. 

Dean Goluboff has been a member of the AALS Deans Forum Steering Committee, Deans Forum Nominating Committee, and a member and chair of the Deans Forum Planning Committee.