Member School Highlight – St. Mary’s University School of Law

Location: San Antonio, TX
Founded: 1927
Joined AALS: 1949
Dean: Patricia Roberts

For more than 90 years, the St. Mary’s University School of Law has educated legal leaders with a commitment to service, justice, and peace. At the St. Mary’s School of Law, as the only law school in San Antonio and the only Catholic law school in Texas, our students and alumni are serious about pursuing the mission of giving a voice to the voiceless through community service and pro bono work.

Student immersed in St. Mary’s University School of Law online JD program

In Fall 2022, the St. Mary’s University School of Law will host the first 25-person cohort for its innovative, part-time online JD, the school’s first fully online JD program accredited by the American Bar Association. The online JD will support the law school’s mission of increasing access to the legal profession for those who are typically underrepresented or who need to remain closer to home.

“As the only law school serving San Antonio and the southernmost school serving South Texas, St. Mary’s Law has a tradition of excellence in legal education stretching back to its founding in 1927,” said Patricia Roberts, J.D., St. Mary’s Law Dean and Charles E. Cantú Distinguished Professor of Law. “This new fully online JD program — the one and only of its kind — exemplifies how St. Mary’s Law continues to lead with tradition and innovation.”

AALS Member School Highlights