STATEMENT BY INDIVIDUAL FACULTY MEMBERS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS AT LITTLE ROCK WILLIAM H. BOWEN SCHOOL OF LAW

We, the undersigned, who are faculty members of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. Bowen School of Law, stand together with those nationally and across the world mourning the deaths of George Floyd, Rayshard Brooks, Breonna Taylor, and so many others who have suffered death and violence at the hands of the state. We endorse the statement of University of Arkansas at Little Rock Chancellor Christy Drale: "UA Little Rock stands against racism and hate and stands with those who support social justice and equality. . . . [T]here are members of our campus community, especially those who identify as African American, who are in great pain at this time as you struggle to process this latest tragedy, while navigating the enduring systems of discrimination that you face in your day-to-day life. We want you to know that you have a place at UA Little Rock, and it is important that we continue to work together to ensure the safety and well-being of every member of our campus community. We are here for you and we care for you. You matter."

As legal educators and members of the legal profession, we write to reaffirm our commitment to the core principles of the Bowen Law School – Access to Justice, Public Service, and Professionalism. These principles underlie the purpose and origin of the law school at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock which was founded to provide an opportunity for non-traditional and part-time students to access the law and provide public service to the underserved and underrepresented. From its inception through today, Bowen Law has facilitated and provided access to justice and public service.

As faculty and administrators at Bowen, we affirm the principle of equal justice under the law. We believe and teach that every individual citizen has the right to access our courts and receive equal treatment under the law, regardless of race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or any other identifying characteristic. We also recommit to serving the Bowen Law student body with that same fairness, justice, and equality, while empowering our students to use their legal education to press for changes that we seek in our nation.

Finally, we affirm our commitment to anti-racism and standing for anti-racist principles within the halls of Bowen Law and throughout our community and country. The hallmark of anti-racism is opposition to the unfair treatment of people who belong to other races. Anti-racism is described as a powerful collection of policies that lead to racial equity and that are validated by anti-racist ideas, including that racial groups are equals in all their differences—that there is nothing right or wrong with any racial group. We are resolute and compelled to act now in fulfilling the call for justice in our nation and to listen to the voices of the African American community, as well as leaders of other marginalized groups, including members of the Latinx, indigenous, Asian, Arab, and LGBTQ+ communities, among others, as we seek to eradicate racism in all forms.

As part of this commitment, we invite our fellow legal educators across the nation to join us in working to foster anti-racism, cultural competency, equal justice under the law, human compassion, and access to justice. We further invite our fellow legal educators to teach students and members of the broader community about the ways in which racial equality and access to justice may be created and sustained to the end of eradicating racism and eliminating its impact in the United States and throughout the world. For only once these goals are achieved can all individuals and communities thrive.

Jada Aitchison Theresa Beiner

Anastasia Boles Jessie Wallace Burchfield

andré douglas pond cummings John DiPippa

Rebecca Feldmann Michael Flannery

Rejena S. Grotjohn J.D. Gingerich

Lindsey P. Gustafson Nicholas Kahn-Fogel

Beth Levi George Mader

Robert Minarcin Kristen Minton

Alicia Mitchell Eruore O. Oboh

Kelly Browe Olson Suzanne Penn

Amy Pritchard Aaron Schwabach

Melissa Serfass Joshua M. Silverstein

Diana Snyder Kelly S. Terry

Christopher Trudeau Kim Vu-Dinh

Jeff Woodmansee