The AALS Executive Committee established the AALS Fellows Program in May 2017 to help to strengthen AALS for future generations of law school faculty, to enrich the profession by engaging faculty more deeply in the organization’s work, and to generate funds to support activities that benefit all law schools. The AALS Fellows will be kept informed of AALS activities and new program initiatives and serve as a sounding board and source of advice.

What is the purpose of the AALS Fellows?

The goal of the Fellows Program is to provide financial support for special initiatives beyond regular membership services and to create a cohort of committed AALS “ambassadors” who will serve as a resource for exploring new directions in legal education.

Who can be a member?

Membership is open to all law school teachers, including full and part-time, current, retired, and adjunct faculty. New Fellows may join at any time and will have the option to renew annually. They may pledge a multi-year gift or pay a lump sum. If you are a law school teacher and you are interested in joining the Fellows, please contact Mary Dillon Kerwin at or (202) 759-9214.

What recognition and benefits will members receive?

Fellows will be listed on the AALS website and in a special donor report distributed annually. Fellows will be invited to a special reception in their honor at the AALS Annual Meeting. Other benefits include free copies of publications, regular reports on AALS programs and weekly emails on legal education news. Other benefits will be added over time.

How are membership dues or giving levels calculated?

Based on current giving among Executive Committee members, the minimum giving level was set at $500, with membership renewed on an annual basis. Higher levels may be delineated in the future as the group expands, but at this early stage the program is striving for broad participation. Lifetime or cumulative giving will also be recognized. Although unrestricted support is the primary focus now, AALS may in the future consider accepting contributions for restricted use, such as endowments, named funds, special initiatives, or scholarly awards.

Founding Members

Blake D. Morant

President of AALS Fellows
Dean & Robert Kramer Research Professor of Law
The George Washington University Law School

Mark C. Alexander

Arthur Kania Dean and Professor of Law
Villanova University Charles Widger Law School

Alicia Alvarez

Clinical Professor of Law
The University of Michigan Law School

Judith Areen

Executive Director
Association of American Law Schools
Dean Emeritus and Professor Emeritus
Georgetown University Law Center

D. Benjamin Barros

Dean and Professor of Law
The University of Toledo College of Law

Mary Beth Beazley

Professor of Law
UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law

Margaret Brinig

Fritz Duda Family Professor of Law
University of Notre Dame

William Byrnes

Executive Professor of Law and Associate Dean, Special Projects
Texas A&M University School of Law

Devon W. Carbado

Associate Vice Chancellor of BruinX for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
and the Honorable Harry Pregerson Professor of Law
University of California, Los Angeles School of Law

Erwin Chemerinsky

Dean and Professor of Law
University of California, Berkeley School of Law

Pat K. Chew

Judge J. Quint Salmon and Anne Salmon Chaired Professor
University of Pittsburgh School of Law

Darby Dickerson

Dean and Professor of Law
The John Marshall Law School

Vicki C. Jackson

Thurgood Marshall Professor of Constitutional Law
Harvard Law School

Gillian Lester

Dean and the Lucy G. Moses Professor of Law
Columbia University Law School

Paul Marcus

Haynes Professor of Law
William & Mary Law School

Leo Martinez

Albert Abramson Professor of Law
University of California, Hastings College of the Law

Carl C. Monk

Former Executive Director,
Association of American Law Schools
Professor Emeritus
Washburn University School of Law

Rachel F. Moran

Michael J. Connell Distinguished Professor of Law
and Dean Emerita
University of California, Los Angeles School of Law

Thomas D. Morgan

Oppenheim Professor Emeritus of Antitrust and Trade Regulation Law
The George Washington University Law School

Cynthia E. Nance

Dean Emeritus, Nathan G. Gordon Professor, and Director of Pro Bono and Community Engagement
University of Arkansas School of Law

Carol A Needham

Emanuel Myers Professor
Center for International and Comparative Law
St. Louis University School of Law

Camille A. Nelson

Dean and Professor of Law
American University Washington College of Law

Michael A. Olivas

William B. Bates Distinguished Chair of Law and Director,
Institute for Higher Education Law & Governance
University of Houston Law Center

Elizabeth Hayes Patterson

Associate Director
Association of American Law Schools
Professor Emerita
Georgetown University

Wendy Collins Perdue

Dean and Professor of Law
The University of Richmond School of Law

Susan Westerberg Prager

Dean, Chief Executive Officer and Professor of Law
Southwestern Law School
Former Executive Director

Lauren Robel

Executive Vice President
Indiana University
IU Bloomington, Val Nolan Professor of Law

Daniel B. Rodriguez

Dean & Harold Washington Professor of Law
Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law

Vincent D. Rougeau

Dean and Professor of Law
Boston College Law School

Patricia Salkin

Dean and Professor of Law
Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center

Shelley Ross Saxer

Vice Dean and Laure Sudreau Rippe
Endowed Professor of Law
Pepperdine University School of Law

Aviam Soifer

Dean and Professor of Law
William S. Richardson School of Law
University of Hawaii

Theodore St. Antoine

James E. & Sarah A. Degan Professor Emeritus
and Dean Emeritus
The University of Michigan Law School

Kellye Y. Testy

Law School Admission Council
Toni Rembe Dean Emerita & Professor of Law
University of Washington School of Law

Gerald Torres

Jane M.G. Foster Professor of Law
Faculty Fellow
Atkinson Center for a Sustainable Future
Cornell Law School

Mark Tushnet

William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law
Harvard Law School

Stephanie M. Wildman

John A. and Elizabeth H. Sutro Professor of Law
and Professor Emerita
Santa Clara School of Law

Patricia D. White

Dean and Professor of Law
University of Miami School of Law