October 11, 2001


To: Deans of Member and Fee-Paid Schools
From: Carl C. Monk
Subject: “Teachers of the Year” Reception at AALS Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, Thursday, January 3, 2002, 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.


As you know, one of the roles of the AALS is to serve as the learned society for law teachers. With this in mind we have consistently encouraged excellence in scholarship and teaching. Since 1985 we have recognized excellence in scholarship of faculty who have been in law teaching less than seven years with the Scholarly Papers competition. To highlight the importance of excellence in teaching, we recognize and honor law faculty who have been selected as “outstanding teachers” at their law schools by listing their names in the Annual Meeting Luncheon program and the February Newsletter, and by hosting a reception for them at the Annual Meeting.

The reception will be held on Thursday, January 3, 2002 from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. If your school annually selects an “outstanding teacher,” please submit the name of your 2000-2001 outstanding teacher so we can invite that faculty member to this reception.

Please complete the attached form and return it to the AALS office no later than Monday, November 26 so that we may send all honorees invitations to the reception. You may send your response to Deborah Quick via fax at (202) 296-8869 or email at

Executive Committee
Deans of Modified Fee-Paid Schools

Thursday, January 3, 2002
6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Indicate the name of your 2000-2001 outstanding teacher below:

NAME OF HONOREE: _________________________________________________________

SCHOOL: ____________________________________________________________________

Return this form via facsimile to Deborah Quick at (202) 296-8869 or email at


Association of American Law Schools Home  Deans' Memos